Monday, February 19, 2018

Sir Julius Vogel Award 2018 Finalists

The Finalists for the Sir Julius Vogel Awards for 2018 have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc. (SFFANZ). The Sir Julius Vogel Awards recognize excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders. They are voted on by New Zealand fans and are presented at the National Science Fiction convention each year. The awards ceremony will be held at Conclave 3 in Auckland on Sunday, April 1st.


Best Novel
  • In the Earth's Embrace, J.C. Hart (Etherhart Press)
  • Bastet's Daughters, Lyn McConchie (Wildside Press)
  • Tyche's Flight, Richard Parry (Independent)
  • Hounds of the Underworld, Dan Rabarts and Lee Murray (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • Starlight's Children, Darian Smith (Wooden Tiger Press)

Best Youth Novel
  • Earthcore, Book 1: RotoVegas, Grace Bridges (Splashdown Books)
  • The Locksmith, Barbara Howe (IFWG Publishing)
  • A Dash of Belladonna, J. Rackham (Lemon Ink)
  • The Kahutahuta, Douglas A. Van Belle (Intergalactic Media Group)
  • The Traitor and the Thief, Gareth Ward (Walker Books Australia)

Best Novella / Novelette
  • The Meiosis of Cells and Exile, Octavia Cade, published in Asimov's Science Fiction, Jan/Feb 2017 edition
  • Standard Hollywood Depravity, Adam Christopher (Tor)
  • Beautiful Abomination, Frances Duncan
  • Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body, Simon Petrie (Peggy Bright Books)
  • Blood Money, Chris Underwood

Best Short Story
  • “Earthcore: Initiation”, Grace Bridges, published on
  • “Syren Song”, A.C Buchanan, published in Kaleidotrope
  • “The Stone Weta”, Octavia Cade, published in Clarkesworld, issue 131
  • “From the Womb of the Land, Our Bones Entwined”, A.J. Fitzwater, published in Pacific Monsters anthology (Fox Spirit Books)
  • “Crimson Birds of Small Miracles”, Sean Monaghan, published in Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine, Jan/Feb 2017

Best Collected Work
  • Mariah's Prologues, Grace Bridges
  • Once Upon a Southern Star: A Collection of Retold Fairy Tales, edited by Shelley Chappell

Best Professional Artwork
  • Earthcore: Initiation, story poster by Grace Bridges
  • Cover for "Teleport", Kate Strawbridge
  • Cover for "Beneath Broken Waves", Kate Strawbridge
  • Cover for "The Madman's Bridge", Patrick McDonald
  • Cover for "In the Earth's Embrace", Kate Strawbridge

Best Professional Production/Publication
  • Mistlands, Laya Rose
  • Breach,

Best Dramatic Presentation
  • The Changeover, directed by Stuart McKenzie and Miranda Harcourt, produced by Emma Slade (Firefly Films)
  • The Cul de Sac, season 2, (Greenstone TV)
  • One Thousand Ropes, directed by Tusi Tamasese (Blueskin Films)


Best Fan Production/ Publication
  • Phoenixine, edited by John and Lynelle Howell
  • Lexicon convention booklet, produced by Darusha Wehm
  • Summer Star Trek – Journey to Babel, Enterprise Entertainment

Best Fan Writing
  • Alex Lindsay, for SITREP (produced in Phoenixine)
  • Jo Toon, for Pass the Rules (produced in Phoenixine)


Best New Talent
  • Barbara Howe
  • Mark Johnson
  • J. Rackham
  • Gareth Ward

Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror
  • Andi Buchanan
  • Darian Smith

Services to Fandom
  • Jan Butterworth

Note: Nominees are presented in randomised order.


Post a Comment