Monday, June 05, 2017

2017 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

The winners of the 2017 Sir Julius Vogel Award have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) during LexiCon 2017 at the Suncourt Hotel Taupō, New Zealand.

Best Novel
  • Innocents, Sarah Fayermann (FeedARead)
  • Den of Wolves, Juliet Marillier (Pan MacMillan Australia)
  • Into the Mist, Lee Murray (Cohesion)
  • Daybreak Rising, Kiran Oliver (self-published)
  • Night’s Fall, Richard Parry (Mondegreen)

Best Youth Novel
  • Stranded Starship, Kevin Berry (Fairytale Factory)
  • The Ghosts of Moonlight Creek, Sue Copsey (self-published)
  • Battlesaurus: Clash of Empires, Brian Falkner (MacMillan)
  • Light in My Dark, Jean Gilbert & William Dresden (Rogue House)

Best Novella / Novelette
  • The Convergence of Fairy Tales, Octavia Cade (Book Smugglers)
  • Babylon’s Song, Woelf Dietrich (in Interspecies, Kosa Press)
  • The Sleeper’s Dance - A Novella, Mouse Diver-Dudfield (Pouakai Books)
  • Spindle, Dan Rabarts (in Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #63)
  • Tipuna Tapu, Dan Rabarts (Clan Destine Press)

Best Short Story
  • Narco”, Michelle Child (in At the Edge, Paper Road Press)
  • “Splintr”, A.J. Fitzwater (in At the Edge, Paper Road Press)
  • “Wakers”, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s Science Fiction, Aug. 2016)
  • “Call of the Sea”, Eileen Mueller (in At the Edge, Paper Road Press)
  • “BlindSight”, A.J. Ponder (in At the Edge, Paper Road Press)
  • “London’s Crawling”, Emma Pullar (Dark Minds Charity Collection)

Best Collected Work
  • At the Edge, edited by Dan Rabarts & Lee Murray (Paper Road Press)
  • Everything is Fine, Grant Stone (Racket House)

Best Professional Artwork
  • Cover artwork for Write Off Line 2016: Everyone’s a Winner, Kodi Murray (Rogue House Publishing)
  • Cover artwork for Beyond the Stars, Kodi Murray (Tauranga Writers Publishing)
  • Cover artwork for Chameleon Moon, Laya Rose
  • The Midnight Star, Laya Rose
  • Cover for That Kind of Planet, Emma Weakley (Random Static)
  • Cover for At the Edge, Emma Weakley (Paper Road Press)

Best Professional Production / Publication
  • That Kind of Planet, Emma Weakley (Random Static)

Best Dramatic Presentation
  • This Papier Mache Boulder is Actually Really Heavy, Andrew Beszant and Christian Nicholson (Little Hero Productions)
  • Chronesthesia, Directed by Hayden J. Weal, collaborator Simeon Duncombe
  • AFK: the webseries, episode 12, “ZERG”, Directed by Peter Haynes (Epically Casual Productions)

Best Fan Production / Publication
  • Novazine, Edited by Jacqui Smith
  • Phoenixine, Edited by John and Lynelle Howell
  • Summer Star Trek: Mirror, Mirror (Enterprise Entertainment)

Best Fan Writing
  • Alex Lindsay for SITREP, Publihsed in Phoenxine 
  • Jacqui Smith for contributions to Novazine
  • Octavia Cade for Food and Horror Column Series,  (Book Smugglers)

Best Fan Artist
  • Keith Smith, Contributions to Novazine

Special Award Nominees

Best New Talent
  • Eileen Mueller
  • Richard Parry
  • Laya Rose

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror
  • Lee Murray

Services to Fandom
  • Jan Butterworth
  • Lynelle Howell


Post a Comment