Tuesday, June 06, 2017

2017 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Finalists

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award shortlist has been announced for the best science fiction novel of the previous year.The award will be announced during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet on Friday, June 16th,.

  • Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds - The Medusa Chronicles
  • Don DeLillo - Zero K
  • Kij Johnson - The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe
  • Paul J. McAuley - Into Everywhere
  • Nisi Shawl - Everfair
  • Tricia Sullivan - Occupy Me
  • Tade Thompson - Rosewater
  • Lavie Tidhar - Central Station
  • Colson Whitehead - The Underground Railroad
  • Aliya Whiteley - The Arrival of Missives
  • Rick Wilber - Alien Morning
  • Ben Winters - Underground Airlines
  • John Nicholas Wood - Azanian Bridges

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award was established to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Authors and scholars Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell's name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work: "to carry on and expand the tradition that Campbell had started, that of assuring the literary growth and development of science fiction." (from the website)


Post a Comment