Saturday, July 15, 2017

2017 Rhysling Award - Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association  has announced the 2017 Rhysling Award Winners. The Rhysling Awards are named for the blind poet Rhysling in Robert A. Heinlein’s short story “The Green Hills of Earth.”

2017 Rhysling Award—Short Poem

Marge Simon
Winning poem: “George Tecumseh Sherman’s Ghosts”
Appeared in Silver Blade 32

Second Place

Wendy Rathbone
“Build a Rocketship Contest: Alternative
Class A Instructions and Suggestions”
Appeared in Asimov’s SF January

Third Place (tie)

James S. Dorr
“Godzilla vs. King Kong”
Appeared in Dreams and Nightmares 103

Jon Wesick
“Richard Feynman’s Commute”
Appeared in The Were-Traveler Dec. 21

Beth Cato
“The Box of Dust and Monsters”
Appeared in Devilfish Review 17

2017 Rhysling Award—Long Poem

Theodora Goss
“Rose Child”
Appeared in Uncanny 13

Second Place

Adam Bolivar
“The Rime of the Eldritch Mariner”
Appeared in Spectral Realms 5

Third Place

Mary Soon Lee
Poem: “Not Like This”
Appeared in Apex Magazine Aug. 4


Post a Comment