Thursday, April 19, 2018

2018 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

This year’s finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction story have been announced. The awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards reception on Friday, June 22, 2018.

Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award - 2018 Finalists

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award recognizes the best science fiction short story of each year. It was established in 1987 by James Gunn, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-­story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

The Campbell Conference has been held each year since 1978 at the University of Kansas. It includes a Friday‐evening banquet where the annual Theodore A. Sturgeon and John W. Campbell Memorial Award are given; a Saturday round‐table discussion with scholars, scientists, and writers of science fiction; and other events.

Note: Clicking on a short story title will take you to that story online with the exception of the link to Greg Egan's story which takes you to a PDF.


Post a Comment