Sunday, August 23, 2015

2015 Hugo Awards and John W. Campbell Award - Winners

The winners of the 2015 Hugo Awards and John W. Campbell Award were announced at Sasquan on August 22nd. Winner in blue.

Best Novel

•  The Three Body Problem, Cixin Liu, Ken Liu translator (Tor Books)

•  Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
•  The Dark Between the Stars by Kevin J. Anderson (Tor Books)
•  The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison (Sarah Monette) (Tor Books)
•  Skin Game: A Novel of the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (Roc Books)

Best Novella

•  No Award

•  Big Boys Don’t Cry by Tom Kratman (Castalia House)
•  “Flow” by Arlan Andrews, Sr. (Analog, Nov 2014)
•  One Bright Star to Guide Them by John C. Wright (Castalia House)
•  “Pale Realms of Shade” by John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons, Castalia House)
•  “The Plural of Helen of Troy” by John C. Wright (City Beyond Time: Tales of the Fall of Metachronopolis, Castalia House)

Best Novelette

•  The Day the World Turned Upside Down, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt translator (Lightspeed, 04-2014)

•  “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium” by Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show, May 2014)
•  “Championship B’tok” by Edward M Lerner (Analog, Sept 2014)
•  “The Journeyman: In the Stone House” by Michael F. Flynn (Analog, June 2014)
•  “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale” by Rajnar Vajra (Analog, Jul/Aug 2014)

Best Short Story

•  No Award

•  “On A Spiritual Plain” by Lou Antonelli (Sci Phi Journal #2, Nov 2014)
•  “The Parliament of Beasts and Birds” by John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons, Castalia House)
•  “A Single Samurai” by Steven Diamond (The Baen Big Book of Monsters, Baen Books)
•  “Totaled” by Kary English (Galaxy’s Edge magazine, July 2014)
•  “Turncoat” by Steve Rzasa (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)

Best Related Work

•  No Award

•  “The Hot Equations: Thermodynamics and Military SF” by Ken Burnside (Riding the Red Horse, Castalia House)
•  Letters from Gardner by Lou Antonelli (The Merry Blacksmith Press)
•  Transhuman and Subhuman: Essays on Science Fiction and Awful Truth by John C. Wright (Castalia House)
•  “Why Science is Never Settled” by Tedd Roberts (
•  Wisdom from my Internet by Michael Z. Williamson (Patriarchy Press)

Best Graphic Story 

•  Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt, (Marvel Comics)

•  Rat Queens Volume 1: Sass and Sorcery written by Kurtis J. Weibe, art by Roc Upchurch (Image Comics)
•  Zombie Nation Book #2: Reduce Reuse Reanimate by Carter Reid (The Zombie Nation)
•  Saga, Volume 3 written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
•  Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick written by Matt Fraction, art by Chip Zdarsky (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form 

•  Guardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn (Marvel Studios, Moving Picture Company)

•  Captain America: The Winter Soldier screenplay by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely, concept and story by Ed Brubaker, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo ((Marvel Entertainment, Perception, Sony Pictures Imageworks)
•  Edge of Tomorrow screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie, Jez Butterworth, and John-Henry Butterworth, directed by Doug Liman (Village Roadshow; RatPac-Dune Entertainment; 3 Arts Entertainment; Viz Productions)
•  Interstellar screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, directed by Christopher Nolan (Paramount Pictures, as Warner Bros. Pictures, Legendary Pictures, Lynda Obst Productions, Syncopy)
•  The Lego Movie written by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, story by Dan Hageman, Kevin Hageman, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, directed by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller (Warner Bros. Pictures, Village Roadshow Pictures, RatPac-Dune Entertainment, LEGO System A/S, Vertigo Entertainment, Lin Pictures, Warner Bros. Animation (as Warner Animation Group))

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form 

•  Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”, ” written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett (Temple Street Productions, Space/BBC America)

•  Doctor Who: “Listen” written by Steven Moffat directed by Douglas Mackinnon (BBC Television)
•  The Flash: “Pilot” teleplay by Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns, story by Greg Berlanti, Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns, directed by David Nutter (The CW; Berlanti Productions, DC Entertainment, Warner Bros. Television)
•  Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper” written by David Benioff & D. B. Weiss, directed by Alex Graves ((HBO Entertainment in association with Bighead, Littlehead; Television 360; Startling Television and Generator Productions)
•  Grimm: “Once We Were Gods” written by Alan DiFiore, directed by Steven DePaul (NBC; GK Productions, Hazy Mills Productions, Universal TV)

Best Editor, Short Form

•  No Award 

•  Jennifer Brozek
•  Vox Day
•  Mike Resnick
•  Edmund R. Schubert
•  Bryan Thomas Schmidt

Best Editor, Long Form

•  No Award

•  Vox Day
•  Sheila Gilbert
•  Jim Minz
•  Anne Sowards
•  Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

•  Julie Dillon

•  Kirk DouPonce
•  Nick Greenwood
•  Alan Pollack
•  Carter Reid

Best Semiprozine

Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner, and Christie Yant

•  Abyss & Apex, Wendy Delmater editor and publisher
•  Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine, Andromeda Spaceways Publishing Association Incorporated, 2014 editors David Kernot and Sue Bursztynski
•  Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
•  Strange Horizons, Niall Harrison Editor-in-Chief

Best Fanzine

•  Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery

•  Black Gate edited by John O’Neill
•  Elitist Book Reviews edited by Steve Diamond
•  The Revenge of Hump Day edited by Tim Bolgeo
•  Tangent SF Online edited by Dave Truesdale

Best Fancast

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

•  Adventures in SF Publishing, Brent Bower (Executive Producer), Kristi Charish, Timothy C. Ward & Moses Siregar III (Co-Hosts, Interviewers and Producers)
•  Dungeon Crawlers Radio, Daniel Swenson (Producer/Host), Travis Alexander & Scott Tomlin (Hosts), Dale Newton (Host/Tech), Damien Swenson (Audio/Video Tech)
•  The Sci Phi Show, Jason Rennie
•  Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman & Peter Newman

Best Fan Writer

•  Laura J. Mixon

•  Dave Freer
•  Amanda S. Green
•  Jeffro Johnson
•  Cedar Sanderson

Best Fan Artist

•  Elizabeth Leggett

•  Ninni Aalto
•  Brad Foster
•  Spring Schoenhuth
•  Steve Stiles

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

•  Wesley Chu*

•  Jason Cordova
•  Kary English *
•  Rolf Nelson
•  Eric. S. Raymond

*Second year of eligibility.


Post a Comment