Sunday, August 02, 2020

2020 Sir Julius Vogel Awards - Winners

The Winners of the  2020 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ). The Sir Julius Vogel Awards recognize excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders. Winners were chosen by SFFANZ members and CoNZealand members and were announced on July 30, 2020

Winners in green.


Best Novel
  • The Blacksmith, Barbara Howe (IFWG Australia)
  • The Prince of Secrets, A.J. Lancaster (Camberion)
  • Solar Federation, S.E. Mulholland (self-published)
  • Into the Ashes, Lee Murray (Severed)
  • The Dawnhounds, Sascha Stronach (Little Hook)

Best Youth Novel
  • Light in My Blood, Jean Gilbert & William Dresden (Rogue House)
  • Tyrelia, SR Manssen (Manssen)
  • Dragon Rift, Eileen Mueller (Phantom Feather)
  • The Clockhill and the Thief, Gareth Ward (Walker Australia)
  • Ringlet and the Day the Oceans Stopped, Felicity Williams (The Cuba Press)

Best Novella/Novelette
  • From a Shadow Grave, Andi C. Buchanan (Paper Road)
  • “Hunger’s Truth”, A.J. Fitzwater (Gigantosaurus 4/19)
  • We All Fall, Helen Vivienne Fletcher (HVF)
  • Would She Be Gone, Melanie Harding-Shaw (self-published)
  • “Ventiforms”, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s 1-2/19)

Best Short Story

  • “Work and Income Gothic”, Jack Remiel Cottrell (Flash Frontier 12/19)
  • “The Fisher”, Melanie Harding-Shaw (Newsroom 10/5/19)
  • “A Shriek Across the Sky”, Casey Lucas (Sponge 5/5/19)
  • “Chasing Oumuamua”, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s 5/19)
  • “Losing Face”, Lee Murray (Tales of the Lost, Volume 1: We All Lose Something!)
  • “Proof of Concept”, James Rowland (New Myths 12/19)

Best Collected Work
  • Beyond the City Limits, Kura Carpenter, ed. (Wicked Unicorn)
  • Flash Frontier: Speculative Fiction Issue, A.J. Fitzwater & Tim Jones, eds.
  • Year’s Best Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction & Fantasy: Volume 1, Marie Hodgkinson, ed. (Paper Road)
  • Into the Mire, Casey Lucas (self-published)
  • Dark Winds Over Wellington, Tabatha Wood (Wild Woods)

Best Professional Artwork
  • Cover for The Dawnhounds, Pepper Curry
  • Illustrations for Tio Tiamu/The Smelly Giant, Laya Rose
  • Cover for Dragon Pearl, Vivienne To
  • Cover for From a Shadow Grave, Emma Weakley

Best Professional Production/Publication
  • Haunt.d, Kezia Tubbs
  • Swords: The Webcomic, Matthew Willis

Best Dramatic Presentation
  • Doctor Who: The Elysian Blade, David Bishop (BBC Audio)


Best Fan Artwork
  • “Wandering Wild”, Michelle Kan
  • “Aliens vs Geysers”, Kat Oliver
  • “Deet”, Laya Rose
  • “Wilder Girls”, Laya Rose

Best Fan Production/Publication
  • Consequence LARP
  • GeyserCon con book
  • Phoenixine
  • Plant Life

Best Fan Writing
  • “Welcome to the Con”, Grace Bridges (GeyserCon con book)
  • SITREP, Alex Lindsay (Phoenixine)


Best New Talent
  • Melanie Harding-Shaw
  • A.J. Lancaster
  • Denika Mead
  • Stephen Mulholland
  • Sascha Stronach

Services to Fandom
  • Grace Bridges

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror
  • Melanie Harding-Shaw


Post a Comment