Sunday, April 30, 2017

2016 Bram Stoker Awards - Winners

The Horror Writers Association have announced the winners of the 2016 Bram Stoker® Awards at StokerCon on April 29, 2017.

Superior Achievement in a Novel
  • Elizabeth Hand – Hard Light: A Cass Neary Crime Novel (Minotaur Books)
  • Stephen Graham Jones – Mongrels (William Morrow)
  • John Langan – The Fisherman (Word Horde)
  • Bracken MacLeod  – Stranded: A Novel (Tor Books)
  • Paul Trembley – Disappearance at Devil’s Rock (William Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
  • Barbara Barnett – The Apothecary’s Curse (Pyr Books)
  • Greg Chapman – Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • Tom Deady – Haven (Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason – Mayan Blue (Sinister Grin Press)
  • Stephanie Wytovich  – The Eighth (Dark Regions Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel
  • Alexander, Maria – Snowed (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • Jennifer Brozek  – Last Days of Salton Academy (Ragnarok Publishing)
  • Elle Cosimano – Holding Smoke (Hyperion-Disney)
  • Jeyn Roberts – When They Fade (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
  • Alexandra Sirowy  – The Telling (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
  • Cullen Bunn – Blood Feud (Oni Press)
  • James Chambers – Kolchak the Night Stalker: The Forgotten Lore of Edgar Allan Poe (Moonstone)
  • Alex de Campi – No Mercy, Vol. 2 (Image Comics)
  • Robert Kirkman – Outcast by Kirkman&Azaceta, Vol 3 This Little Light (Image Comics)
  • Mark Alan Miller and Joe R. Lansdale –The Steam Man (Dark Horse Books)
  • Alan Moore – Providence, Act 1 (Avatar Press)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
  • Nicole Cushing – The Sadist’s Bible (01Publishing)
  • Scott Edelman – That Perilous Stuff (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
  • Victor LaValle – The Ballad of Black Tom (
  • Josh Malerman – The Jupiter Drop (You, Human) (Dark Regions Press)
  • Tim Waggoner – The Winter Box (DarkFuse)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
  • Michael Bailey – Time is a Face on the Water (Borderlands 6) (Borderlands Press)
  • Hal Bodner – A Rift in Reflection (Chiral Mad 3) (Written Backwards)
  • Christopher Golden – The Bad Hour (What the #@&% is That?) (Saga Press)
  • Lisa Mannetti – ArbeitMacht Frei(Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories) (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Joyce Carol Oates – The Crawl Space (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Volume #2016/Issue#8) (Dell Magazines)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
  • Laird Barron – Swift to Chase (JournalStone)
  • Richard Chizmar – A Long December (Subterranean Press)
  • Joyce Carol Oates – The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror (Mysterious Press)
  • Gene O’Neill – Lethal Birds (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • Hank Schwaeble – American Nocturne (Cohesion Press)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
  • Josh Campbell, Damien Chazelle, and Matthew Stuecken – 10 Cloverfield Lane (Paramount Pictures)
  • Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer – Stranger Things: The Vanishing of Will Byers (Episode 01: Chapter One) (21 Laps Entertainment, Monkey Massacre)
  • Matt Duffer and Ross Duffer – Stranger Things: The Upside Down (Episode 01: Chapter Eight) (21 Laps Entertainment, Monkey Massacre)
  • Robert Eggers – The Witch (Parts and Labor, RT Features, Rooks Nest Entertainment, Code Red Productions, Scythia Films, Maiden Voyage Pictures, Mott Street Pictures, Pulse Films, and Very Special Projects)
  • John Logan – Penny Dreadful: A Blade of Grass (Episode 03:04) Showtime Presents in association with SKY, Desert Wolf Productions, Neal Street Productions)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
  • Michael Bailey – Chiral Mad 3 (Written Backwards)
  • Alessandro Manzetti  – The Beauty of Death (Independent Legions Publishing)
  • Thomas F. Monteleone and Oliva F. Monteleone – Borderlands 6 (Samhain Publishing, Ltd.)
  • Billie Sue Mosiman – Fright Mare-Women Write Horror (DM Publishing)
  • Doug Murano and D. Alexander Ward – Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
  • Leo Braudy – Haunted: On Ghosts, Witches, Vampires, Zombies and Other Monsters of the Natural and Supernatural(Yale University Press)
  • Ruth Franklin – Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright Publishing Corporation)
  • Danel P. Olson – Guillermo del Toro’s “The Devil’s Backbone” and “Pan’s Labyrinth”: Studies in the Horror Film (Centipede Press)
  • W. Scott Poole – In the Mountains of Madness: The Life, Death and Extraordinary Afterlife of H. P. Lovecraft (Soft Skull Press)
  • David J. Skal – Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote
  • John Tibbetts, – The Gothic Worlds of Peter Straub (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
  • Bruce Boston and Alessandro Manzetti – Sacrificial Nights (KippleOfficinaLibraria)
  • Michael R. Collings – Corona Obscura: Poems Dark and Elemental (self-published)
  • Jeannine Hall Gailey – Field Guide to the End of the World: Poems (Moon City Press)
  • Marge Simon – Small Spirits (Midnight Town Media)
  • Stephanie M. WytovichBrothel (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


Post a Comment